I have just started the second year of a part time MA in Arts Management. This semester I am studying the ‘Management of Creative Practice: Marketing and Communications’ and have recently been introduced to the Henley Centre report for ACE ‘The Arts Landscape in 2010’. I was interested to discover that as a single working parent I fall into the most ‘time poor’ sector of society and only have 13.5 free hours in a week. I suspect that this is when I fit in my MA, eat cake, roller-skate and allow my son to practice his rugby tackles on me!

50% of this module will be assessed on a group presentation. To practice presentations skills, my tutor has suggested that I prepare a presentation that summarises how The British Museum site www.thebritishmuseum.ac.uk/compass/ has used the web interface, through assessing its benefits both for the organisation and people wanting to find out more.

With my new ‘time poor’ status firmly under my belt, I have decided to approach this task as an arts manager. I have identified the objective of the task to develop presenting skills and my problem as a lack of research time. The resources I have available are an extended virtual network of creative divergent thinkers, a ‘time rich’ 11 year old daughter proficient in the creation of power point presentations and a badge making machine.

I am not work shy nor am I looking to cheat but am interested in the way in which creative thinkers embrace problems through innovative practice. I have recently read Tina Seelig’s book ‘What I wish I knew When I Was 20; A Crash Course on Making Your Place in the World’. Seelig is the executive director of the Stanford Technology Ventures Programme; she is an entrepreneur, neuroscientist and teacher. In her book, she puts forward many examples of how individuals and organizations have demonstrated a healthy disregard for the impossible, a knowledge of how to recover from failure and the ability to see problems as remarkable opportunities in disguise through divergent thinking.

I have decided to take a chance and prepare a practice presentation on how creative thinking  influences problem solving in the cultural sector but I need help from creative thinkers. So, my virtual friends, this is where you come in! Faced with the British Museum task what would you do? I have five fabulous handmade badges on offer for the five most appealing ideas. I would be very grateful if you could post your creative thoughts below and I would also like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to launch my first twitter campaign!

 

